105 Plays


Popular Songs

What You Need (feat. Duane Harden) (Full Intention Radio Edit)
Rhythm of the Night
Power Trip
I Should've Known


What You Need (Bob Sinclar Remix / Jay Dabhi Edit)
Crush 'Em
What You Need (Natalie M Remix)



The original (from February, 1972) line-up included: Vic Malcolm (lead guitar), Tom Hill (bass guitar), Brian Gibson (drums) and Brian Johnson (lead vocals). Their first single, "Don't Do That" broke into the UK Top 40 in December 1972. In March 1973, Geordie released their debut album, Hope You Like It on EMI label. Trying to compete with such British glam rock outfits as Slade and Sweet (Geordie supported the former on a UK tour, as well as the latter at a concert at the Rainbow Club, London in March 1973), they achieved U.K. Top 10 status with "All Because Of You" (April 1973) and had a U.K. Top 20 hit with "Can You Do It" (July 1973). They also had several appearances on BBC Television including 15 appearances on Top of the Pops, one of which was in November 1972. Their second album, Don't Be Fooled By The Name (1974), including a cover of traditional "House Of The Rising Sun", failed to yield a hit. Brian Johnson played "House of the Rising Sun" by Geordie on his debut BBC Radio 2 show on 31 Sept 2012. Amongst his other reminiscences during the debut show were his days in Geordie, appearing with them on TV in Belgium, and meeting Freddie Mercury of Queen. After their 1976 album Save The World, frontman Johnson left for a solo project. The band's final album, No Good Woman, in 1978 consisted of three unreleased tracks with Johnson and new material recorded by Malcolm with future Dire Straits keyboardist Alan Clark, vocalist Dave Ditchburn, bassist Frank Gibbon, and drummer George Defty. Johnson had meanwhile begun to perform as Geordie in a new line-up, sometimes also called Geordie II, in which he was the only original member. The band signed a recording contract in 1980, but finally folded that Spring when Johnson became a member of AC/DC to replace the late Bon Scott. After AC/DC's lead singer Bon Scott died in February 1980, AC/DC chose Brian Johnson (whose vocal talent had previously been praised by Scott) to take over lead vocal duties. Johnson first appeared with AC/DC on their album, Back In Black. In 1982, the original Geordie, but without Johnson, re-grouped as a quintet and went on to record an album titled No Sweat in 1983 with new singer Rob Turnbull and additional guitarist David Stephenson. The album was released on heavy metal independent record label, Neat Records, Critically acclaimed but with no major success. Malcolm left, and they later changed their name to Powerhouse, to release an eponymous album in 1986, before disbanding indefinitely. At the end of 2001, during an AC/DC hiatus, Johnson had a one off reunion, for a short UK tour, with Geordie's 1977-1980 line-up, performing largely hard rock cover versions. They were known as Geordie 2. Rob Turnbull (Dr. Rob) is a member of the band Gadji as of 2013. In 2014, Vic Malcolm formed a new band, Dynamite, with Rick Mort and recorded an album in 2014 on indie label Tabitha Records. 1972-1977 line-up: Line-up for some tracks on No Good Woman (1978): Line-up with Johnson ("Geordie II"), 1978–1980, 2001: 1982-1985 line-up: Line-up as Powerhouse, 1986