Cold Specks

33.9K Plays

Trending Now




Featured in

Similar Artists


Cold Specks is the stage name of Ladan Hussein, also known as Al Spx, a Somali-Canadian singer-songwriter. The name Cold Specks is taken from a line in James Joyce's Ulysses ("Born all in the dark wormy earth, cold specks of fire, evil, lights shining in the darkness."). Cold Specks appeared on Series 39, Episode 7, of Later with Jools Holland. Her debut single "Holland" was released on October 17, 2011,. She released her debut album, I Predict a Graceful Expulsion, on May 21, 2012, on Mute Records and Arts & Crafts in Canada. Cold Specks appears on two tracks of Moby's 2013 album Innocents, including the lead single, “A Case for Shame,” which was released on 1 July 2013. She also appears on the track “Bring the Sun” of Swans’ 2014 album To Be Kind. Cold specks appears on the song "Ceaseless Inexhaustible Child (Cyntoia Brown)" of Ambrose Akinmusire's 2014 album The Imagined Savior is Far Easier to Paint. Her second album, Neuroplasticity, was released on August 26, 2014. It features trumpet playing by Ambrose Akinmusire and backing vocals from Michael Gira of Swans.