Spock's Beard

18.9K Plays

Trending Now


Music Videos



Featured in

Similar Artists


Spock's Beard are a progressive rock band formed in 1992 in Los Angeles by brothers Neal and Alan Morse. Neal played keyboards and was the lead vocalist, as well as being the primary songwriter before leaving the band in 2002 to pursue a solo career. Alan plays electric guitar. The original line-up consisted of the Morse brothers, along with fellow musicians Nick D'Virgilio and John Ballard (bass). The following year Ballard was replaced by Dave Meros and the band subsequently released their debut album, The Light, in 1995. The quartet were later joined by veteran keyboardist Ryo Okumoto. Neal Morse departed in 2002, with D'Virgilio taking over lead vocals until his departure in 2011. The band currently consists of longstanding members Alan Morse, Dave Meros, and Ryo Okumoto, along with newer members drummer Jimmy Keegan and vocalist Ted Leonard; both of whom had performed in a live capacity with the band previously (Keegan from D'Virgilio's switch to frontman and Leonard in the immediate aftermath of D'Virgilio's departure). The band plays a brand of progressive rock with pop music leanings (drawing much influence from Yes and Genesis). The band is also well known for their intricate multi-part vocal harmonies (such as those found on certain Gentle Giant songs) and use of counterpoint on cuts such as "Gibberish", "Thoughts (Parts I and II)", "A Guy Named Sid Pt.5: Sid's Boy Choir", "Long Time Suffering", "Devil's Got My Throat", "The Healing Colors of Sound, Pt. 2", and "Afterthoughts."