The Hoosiers

46K Plays

Latest Song

Trending Now


Music Videos



Featured in

Similar Artists


The Hoosiers are an English pop rock band from Bracknell, Berkshire. The band consists of members Irwin Sparkes (lead vocals, lead guitar), Sam Swallow (keyboards, backing vocals), and Alfonso Sharland (drums, percussion). Their first single "Worried About Ray" reached number 5 on the UK Singles Chart in July 2007. In October 2007, they released their debut album The Trick to Life, which reached number 1 in the album charts. The band released their second top ten album The Illusion of Safety on 16 August 2010 and was preceded by the lead single "Choices" which was released on 1 August 2010, it reached the UK Top 20. In October 2013, they unveiled a preview of their forthcoming new single "Somewhere in the Distance" exclusively on entertainment news website Digital Spy. It began receiving airplay on the radio shortly afterwards including on 106.9FM WHCR. The song serves as the lead single to their third studio album The News from Nowhere, which followed on 14 April 2014. Fans who pre-ordered the LP from their official website were promised the record a week ahead of its official release. In July 2015, bassist Martin Skarendah left the band in what was described by the remaining members as "one of the most amicable decisions in music history".